You are here

2019 T.H. Wu Distinguished Lecture

Friday, February 15, 2019, 3:30 pm

Scott Laboratory  |  Room 110E  |  201 W. 19th Ave.  |  Columbus, OH 43210

The T.H. Wu Distinguished Lecture is a signature event in the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering. Presented yearly, the lecture features prominent scholars and practioners in the field of geotechnical engineering. The lecture is held in honor of Dr. Tien H. Wu, professor emeritus and former chair of CEGE.

James K. Mitchell Sc.D., P.E.N.A.E., N.A.S.

2019 T.H. Wu Distinguished Lecturer

The Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering is pleased to announce that James K. Mitchell has been selected as the T.H. Wu Distinguished Lecturer for 2019. Dr. Mitchell received his B.S. (1951) degree in Civil Engineering from Rensswlaer Polytechnic Institute, and his M.S. (1953) and Sc.D. (1956) degrees in Civil (Geotechnical) Engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He joined the faculty of U.C. Berkeley in 1958 and held the Edward G. Cahill and John R. Cahill Chair in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) at the time of his retirement from Berkeley in 1993. Concurrently, he was Research Engineer in the Institute of Transportation Studies and in the Earthquake Engineering Research Center. He was CEE Department Chair from 1979 through 1984. After retirement from Berkeley, Professor Mitchell was appointed in 1994 as the first Charles E. Via, Jr. Professor in the Via CEE Department at Virginia Tech. He became University Distinguished Professor in 1996 and University Distinguished Professor, Emeritus, in 1999.

During his career, he supervised the dissertation research of 76 Ph.D. students and authored more than 375 publications, including the graduate level text and geotechnical reference, Fundamentals of Soil Behavior, that is widely used by geotechnical engineers around the world.

Among his many honors, Professor Mitchell was awarded the ASCE Norman Medal in 1972 and 1995, the Thomas A. Middlebrooks Award (four times), the Walter L. Huber Research Prize, the Terzaghi Lecture Award, the Karl Terzaghi Award, the H. Bolton Seed Medal (2004) and the 2006 Outstanding Projects and Leaders Award (OPAL) in Education. He was elected to membership in the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) in 1976 and the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) in 1998.

RSVP to Kevin Satterfield ( at 614-247-7749

2 hours of  professional development time will be offered to those in attendance.