College of Engineering recognizes 2023 Distinguished Faculty Award recipients

Posted: May 1, 2023
A women gestures while standing at a podium
Dean Ayanna Howard addresses attendees at the 26th annual Distinguished Faculty Awards.

Three CEGE professors were among a group of faculty, researchers and partners recognized for their achievements during The Ohio State University College of Engineering's 26th annual Distinguished Faculty Awards. The celebration of faculty excellence in teaching, innovation and service took place on April 28, 2023.

“We’re proud to celebrate these extraordinary Buckeyes, whose dedication to education, innovation and collaboration enables the College of Engineering to excel in its mission to prepare the next generation of problem-solvers and create impactful solutions that improve our world,” said Dean Ayanna Howard, the Monte Ahuja Endowed Dean’s Chair.

Gil Bohrer

Professor Gil Bohrer received the college's Faculty Mentoring Award. The citation honored Bohrer's "outstanding, unselfish and unvarnished guidance and mentoring of many faculty to success in the Department of Civil, Environmental and Geodetic Engineering and beyond."

The Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes an individual faculty member in the College of Engineering for demonstrated excellence in the mentoring of one or more early-career faculty members within the college.

During the proceedings, two CEGE faculty members received Lumley Research Awards for their respective research efforts. 

Natalie Hull and Ethan Kubatko portraits
(L to R) Natalie Hull and Ethan Kubatko

Natalie Hull, assistant professor and Ethan Kubatko, associate professor, were recognized as being among a select group of outstanding researchers in the College of Engineering who have shown exceptional activity and success in pursuing new knowledge of a fundamental or applied nature.

Learn about the entire cohort of Distinguished Faculty Award recipients at 

 - Adapted from a story by COE Communications

Category: Faculty
Tag: Awards